21st January 2014


Sparkling wines designated Cremant (“creamy”) were originally named because their lower carbon dioxide pressures were thought to give them a creamy rather than fizzy mouth-feel. The wines must also be aged for a minimum of one year. Though they may have full pressures today, they are still produced using the traditional method, and have to fulfill strict production criteria. In France, there are seven appellations for sparkling wine which include the designation Cremant in their name:

  • Cremant d’Alsace
  • Cremant de Bordeaux
  • Cremant de Bourgogne
  • Cremant de Die
  • Cremant du Jura
  • Cremant de Limoux
  • Cremant de Loire

There is also a Crémant designation outside of France:

  • Cremant de Luxembourg

The Loire Valley is France’s largest producer of sparkling wines outside of the Champagne region.

Glass of Bubbly

Executive editor of news content for the website Please enjoy the articles that we share - We hope you find our love for Champagne & Sparkling Wines both interesting and educational.