Champagne Taittinger Toast Winners at BAFTAs

10th May 2016

Champagne Taittinger Toast Winners at BAFTAs

The great and the good of UK Television gathered at the Royal Festival Hall on Sunday night as the winners of the House of Fraser British Academy Television Awards in 2016 were announced.

Official Champagne and wine partners to BAFTA, Champagne Taittinger and Villa Maria were on hand throughout the evening to help the glamorous guests celebrate.

Attendees toasted the winners at the ceremony, hosted by Graham Norton, with Champagne Taittinger, official Champagne Partner to BAFTA, which was served to guests throughout the evening.

Ray Galton and Alan Simpson were presented with the Academy Fellowship, the highest accolade, awarded in recognition of their outstanding and exceptional writing. They are responsible for creating some of the most iconic comedy characters and programmes on British screens. Recent Fellows in television include Jon Snow, Julie Walters, Sir Michael Palin, Sir Trevor McDonald, Dawn French and Jennifer Saunders.

Sir Lenny Henry was honoured with the Special Award on the night, which recognised his outstanding creative contribution to television during a career that has so far spanned over 40 years.

Exclusive BAFTA labelled Magnums of Champagne Taittinger Brut Réserve, were produced to be served at the ceremony and all nominees received official gift bags containing bottles of Taittinger in stylish gift boxes and invitations to visit the Villa Maria winery in Auckland for a VIP tour whilst a BAFTA labelled Methesulah of Champagne Taittinger had pride of place backstage for signing. This will be auctioned later in the year for charity.

Mark Rylance won leading actor for Wolf Hall and Suranne Jones, leading actress for Doctor Foster.

Full results can be viewed here:


Glass of Bubbly

Executive editor of news content for the website Please enjoy the articles that we share - We hope you find our love for Champagne & Sparkling Wines both interesting and educational.